This last recording experience has been interesting. Somewhere along the line, much to my blissful ignorance, my motivation switched from – I want millions of people to smash this song on their stereos, i-pods and MP3 players and various other audio listening devices over and over again, to…. I really hope my Mum likes this.

What the??

I found myself thinking while mic testing, if one person’s heart sings while listening to this song, if one of my best buddies chooses this song to walk down the isle to or puts it on repeat on their i-pod when they’re catching the bus to work or going for a walk along on the beach….than it’s a hands down success. What better use of my music then the possibility that it might make some of the people I love in my life or feel good, excited or proud for a moment. There’s no better.

So this time, I’ve recorded three songs that I love. Not what I think maybe the record execs are shopping for or what’s hot right now. I’ve picked songs that I love to sing, that my friends liked the best at gigs, that capture a moment and time in my life that are essentially just me.

I used to think I had to cling to music in order to never lose it. I had to steer it through shark infested waters like a big angry ship. But it’s always there inside, a big part of me that thumps away like an essential organ. No matter what anyone thinks of it, how it’s tossed around, examined and judged – it’s an honest representation of who I am, of my growth, a documentation of life with it’s up’s and down’s, poking and prodding and it’s never going to up and leave me! You just have to do the the best you can do each and every day.

So when I get home in the dark and cold from a long day in the studio and see the pride on my Partners face as he listens to each new musical development…when he puts my songs on repeat as he works. I feel very successful indeed, perched like a king on top of the world, because he’s what really matters to me.

What really matters to me....